U is for Unique

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

 

Today is April 24th    and the Unusual   letter U

***

original photo of the bench

original photo of the bench

 

The description on the back cover of my collection of poetry and very short fiction starts with:

Using in a unique style of storytelling that sets the tone for the book, the first entry tells a bench’s 60 year history in six stanzas of 100 words each.

In fact each stanza is composed of 100 words and this method of storytelling is called a drabble.

When I drafted my description I sent it to several people. Most agreed that the word “drabble” should not be included as it wouldn’t appeal to readers.

My preferred method of storytelling is the drabble – sort of addicted to the form.

I wrote the first piece in the book called “The Bench” quite a while before the idea of publishing occurred to me. When I did decide to publish I needed a name for the book. And since I had good photos to highlight the bench and since I believe this is one of the best pieces I’ve written I called the collection The Bench.

One of my reviewers had this to say

 The title story will draw you in, as she ponders the life, the evolution, the thoughts and feelings, of a park bench over the years. I was impressed with the idea of studying an object we often take for granted from its perspective as the world moves around it. Change is a constant in life, but how would something like a bench deal with that? What are the ups and downs it would experience? What would it witness as it stayed in one place while the rest of us scurried about on our quest for happiness, for love, for death?

***

Utterly unwinding with your universal entries

Have you ever written a story or a poem about an inanimate object ?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to U is for Unique

  1. I love the drabble Sue 🙂 One of my favourite forms.

  2. Wow, Susan, what a great and very detailed review. Makes the reader think about it, for sure. And indeed, a unique idea you had. Good going.

  3. I once wrote a piece based on an old imbuia family couch… from the couch’s perspective…

  4. I think I would have been intrigued if I’d come across the word “drabble” in a book description. Maybe I am “unique” in that opinion? 🙂 Wonderful book, Susan. 🙂

    I guess the closest I’ve come to writing about an inanimate object is the series of photos I’ve taken from a hilltop near my home. Across fields, weather, seasons, sunset, sunrise light, dusk, fields in flower, ripe, harvested… And just last week I took what I think will be the final photo. Off in the distance beyond a blue-green ridge, a frack well. Maybe I’ll call that one :The Final Harvest”.

    Good post, Susan. 🙂

    • susan says:

      umm – what’s a frack well? but they are not inanimate – the fields the trees the seasons are all allive!

  5. finley jayne says:

    It’s neat to see the actual bench photo and then seeing it again on your cover 🙂

  6. Jemima Pett says:

    I saw a review;
    I thought it looked int’resting,
    And now I find you!

    Good luck with the book 🙂
    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

Have a seat and talk to me

