S is for the Spell

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Today is April 22nd   and the Social   letter S

**

Another flash fiction piece inspired by a prompt

https://i1.wp.com/ww2.grn.es/merce/illa/witch14.gif

The Spell

Smoke from the flames curled and twisted in the breeze. The three witches gathered around the cauldron. Sarah peered up at the sparks, her red hair in perfect waves down her confident back. Emily’s brows furrowed, she bit her lip. Young Helen hopped from foot to foot running her fingers through her short black strands.

“What if it does not work?” Helen asked.

“It has to work,” said Emily.

“It will work,” said Sarah..

Clouds amassed, orange rippled across the horizon. They raised their faces to the dripping sky. The spell succeeded. The arid ground received the nourishment prayed for by the townspeople. There would be a harvest this year.

**

Surely looking forward to reading your Snippets

I may have asked this already – have you ever written to a prompt?

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, fiction, flash fiction, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to S is for the Spell

  1. Great piece Sue! I love that the ending was different from what I expected 🙂

  2. Kirsten says:

    I like how the three witches differ in opinion on the result of the spell!
    I’m not very good at prompts, I’m afraid. I write either way too much or much too little. One of the reasons I decided to do A to Z was to get used to writing posts between 100-300 words long. It’s really helped me! 🙂

  3. finley jayne says:

    Great piece for the letter ‘S’ 🙂

  4. LindaGHill says:

    Nice little story. 🙂 I did 30 days of prompts in a row last summer. It was a wonderful exercise! 😀

  5. I think writing to a prompt has produced some of my best writing… 🙂

  6. Good piece, Susan. And yay … the spell succeeded. 🙂
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  7. Cute little witch story. Nice to see them doing something good, rather than causing mischief. 🙂 I’ve written to a prompt once for a writing contest. I didn’t win, but it was still fun.

Have a seat and talk to me

