R is for Roses

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Today is April 21st   and the Reliable   letter R

Roses Are Red is the poetry section of The Bench   the section contains eight poems, four of which I am highlighting in this challenge

photo by author

photo by author

 

When I was organizing which pieces should go into the collection I realised that I couldn’t use section headers such as: poetry, drabbles, double drabbles, flash fiction, fiction etc. Too boring. I asked a poet friend for suggestions. I mainly needed help for the narrative poems I wished to include. His comments got the creative juices flowing. Roses are Red is for poetry. I guess I did a pretty good job since a friend took the book to her writing group to use as a model for their anthology 😀

 

   Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

Sugar is sweet,

And so are you

 

Hopefully my poems have more depth than the example (my reviewers thought so anyway) but I decided it was a good section title.

***

Really Reading your R posts

It will be quite a while before the roses bloom here. How’s your garden doing?

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to R is for Roses

  1. Kirsten says:

    Poetic headers like yours will set the mood for what is to come. Good idea!
    We’ve just got our hyacinths and daffodils coming up, and I sure hope our rough winter didn’t kill off our lovely pink roses. 🙂

  2. What a lovely picture Sue! And kudos on the direction you were able to provide for the writer’s group!

  3. LindaGHill says:

    Slowly emerging, though I’ll have to plant more roses. Mine didn’t survive. 😦

  4. I’m not a gardening person… I don’t have green fingers…
    Your collection sounds fabulous!

  5. 🙂 Hubby tilled the small garden. We grow mostly flowers, now. The roses next to the house didn’t live through the especially harsh winter. 😦 I might choose something else intheir palce when I replant. I’m going to plant potatoes this evening. How is your garden?

  6. finley jayne says:

    Daffodils and crocuses are in bloom over here right now 🙂

  7. Such a vivid color, and perfect choice for R. I can stare at that rose for a loooong time. Yes, I’m sure you did a great job with that book, as illustrated by your friend’s interest.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  8. Rosie Amber says:

    Hi Susan, this fits so well for the letter R, I’ve given your blog a shout out today from my blog, the book I’ve got for today is Red Clay and Roses!

Have a seat and talk to me

