I is for Ice Storm

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Today is April 10th   and the  Ironic letter I

And another Haiku from the Mother Nature section of The Bench

***

Google Image

Google Image

That icicle looks like the letter I – no?

 

Ice Storm

Mean, red, heaven’s eye

wind moans, pierces with death grip

trees shine icy, encrusted

***

Informally searching for your posts

Have you ever been caught in an ice storm? I think this winter just about all of us have.

 

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, Poetry, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I is for Ice Storm

  1. Jean says:

    Not this winter, but a number of years ago, I got caught on the DC Beltway in an ice storm. Not fun at all.

  2. Kirsten says:

    Oh boy, have we ever had ice this winter! The ice is so beautiful to look at, but beware of walking on it! Falling down can be lethal.
    I think you’ve captured that menace well in your verse. 🙂

  3. leesha0304 says:

    Great post! I love the way ice encases branches, making the trees look hauntingly beautiful (though not so much when ice encases my windshield). 🙂 Happy A to Z!

  4. I’ve never been caught in an ice storm, thank God. I do find icicles fascinating to look at, for some strange reason. Some of them, depending on shape and such, look like pieces of art. Beautiful piece, Sue. Enjoyed reading it.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  5. Very visual, Sue. I notice that this “immerses” your readers into memories of ice storms. Well done. 🙂

  6. LindaGHill says:

    I was close to Ottawa, in Gatineau when the big one hit – was it ’99 or ’00? Anyway, it was the one that took out practically the entire province of Quebec. Fun stuff!
    Nice haiku. 🙂

  7. Great piece Sue! I have been through many of an ice storm – in fact the damage from the ones this past winter are still apparent all over my property.

Have a seat and talk to me

