E is for no Escape

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Today is April 5th   and my Enthusiasm has not waned.

This entry is composed of three connecting Haiku. It’s one of my oldest pieces stemming from my days with a poetry group.

***

Google Image

Google Image

(that’s a great image eh?)

No Escape

My mind a tangled

web of your soul’s worst nightmare.

You will not escape.

Into my clutches

your blackest despair, squeezed by

my tormented wrath.

Don’t attempt to flee,

or beseech to the Divine.

Your fate and death. Mine.

I still get goosebumps with this one and I wrote it!

***

Very Excited to see what you’ve posted

Does your writing still give the emotion you intended it to even years later?

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, Poetry, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to E is for no Escape

  1. Whoa! Can I just say – Yeah, Mamma! Sorry- that was DA talking. Excellent piece, Sue! Superb!

  2. The imagery is powerful and compelling. I agree that it’s chilling. Well done!

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Oooh, very powerful! And the image you chose is a wonderful match. Seriously, Sue. That totally rocks!

  4. Agreed: it’s a chilling piece, very powerful. I love it when our own writing affects us like this.

    Thanks for the visit to Quiet Laughter yesterday 🙂

  5. Donna B. McNicol [@dbmcnicol] says:

    Wonderful imagery!!!

    D.B. McNicol
    A to Z: Romance & Mystery…writing my life

  6. I love the compliment of the image and the words! They fit together so well like one was made for the other and vice versa! Fantastic!

  7. Great post, and the image … wow … perfect.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  8. Kirsten says:

    Gorgeous words and image!
    I love your question and the answer is yes. A while ago I came upon some poetry I wrote in college that I don’t even remember writing. Reading it made me cry, not just because of the bittersweet emotion of the words, but it was so unexpected, as if I’d encountered my younger self in an unguarded moment, a glimpse of my past I’d forgotten.

  9. dino0726 says:

    Hi Susan – You actually managed three words with E – Escape; Enthusiasm; and Excited. Very nice posts! :).

  10. leesha0304 says:

    I love that image! It’s darkness compliments the poem quite nicely. 🙂

  11. Great image which goes will with poem. Both chilling.

Have a seat and talk to me

