A is for Alone

For the second year I decided to participate in the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Many bloggers post on a theme such as poetry, photography or an aspect of writing.

This year, since my poetry and very short fiction, The Bench,  published, I thought a preview would be appropriate.

***

Today is April 1st and I’m not fooling, we start with the letter A.

****

photo by Author

photo by Author

Alone

The water barely rippled as she entered. Her naked body gleamed like marble in the moonlight; stars trailed across the bright sky, reflections danced in the calm water.

She had left the man’s bed following her whispered confession. Later his face had frozen in grief. 

 “I will miss you.”

In silence she made her way down the path strewn with autumn leaves, the colours dulled in the darkness.

Pondering his fate her lover buried his cheeks in moist arms and soaked shirt cuffs.

Star light still governed the heavens; he found the path still cluttered with debris.

The water barely rippled as he entered to join her.

***

Some of you might notice this is a Drabble (a story in 100 words). Actually it’s 107 words since the prompt does not count.

A writing prompt could be a single word, a short phrase or a photograph. It’s simply a topic, or focal point, around which a fiction writer, or poet, starts jotting down ideas that may lead to a complete story or poem.

Many of the pieces contained in the collection were inspired by a prompt.

**

Ardently looking forward to your A posts 😀

What’s the shortest story you ever wrote?

This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, fiction, flash fiction, The Bench, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A is for Alone

  1. Beautiful imagery, Susan. You do it so well! It sounds like you approach drabbles like they are half flash fiction/half puzzle. 🙂 The shortest I’ve written (to stand alone) are 250 word flashes for the Thursday Threads meme. I’m so long-winded that it kills me to stay under 250 words. lol

  2. Exquisitely beautiful… a very touching piece, Sue.

  3. HI Sue – I’ve written quite a few drabbles in my life, but the shortest stories I ever wrote were a pair of 55 word flashes that stand alone, but are much better read together as they offer a different perspective of the same event.

    Great drabble – so soulful and sad!

  4. VR Barkowski says:

    Heartbreaking and lovely, Sue. My shortest story was 300 words and called “Tiny Heart.” It was one of my favorites, but no one would publish it until I wrapped into a 10k word short.

    VR Barkowski

    • susan says:

      through a friend I’ve found flash fiction challenges with like 42 words or 33 words. You’re probably taller than me also

  5. The shortest story I ever wrote was about 300 words.
    Loved your drabble.

  6. Eccentricity says:

    The shortest one I wrote was 100 words for a writing challenge – it was called ‘Rent Stamps’. It’s still on my current blog.

    Excellent story you wrote here.

  7. Jean says:

    Thanks for visiting me. I wanted to thank you for the feedback on length. I have many shorter pieces scheduled, but it probably wasn’t wise to start the challenge with a longer story.

    Jean, visiting for the A-Z Challenge from Rantings and Ravings of an Insane Writer

  8. Pat Hatt says:

    A great write indeed

  9. Julia says:

    The story might be sad, but I wonder, could she just need time to think, and is going for a swim? Anyway, I always admired people who could write poetry, and I like the story you included here, which makes the poem more intriguing. I wish I could know what happens to the characters next. I am participating with you in the A to Z Challenge, so I hope you have a great time with it.

    Sweetbearies Art Projects

    Sweetbearies Art Photography

  10. A very sad tale. I read through it twice, really enjoyed it.
    Wishing you luck with the challenge.

    http://cmbrown-books.blogspot.com.au/

Have a seat and talk to me

